Greetings everyone!

Tell us a little bit about you...

Greetings everyone!

Postby astropos on Tue Sep 26, 2006 6:47 pm

I discovered this website through a link at the David Sylvian livejournal. I was looking for a place like this before but couldn't find any forum I would stick to. Hopefully this site can offer me some great talks about both David Sylvian/Japan. I was hooked on David Sylvian's music for some time, before I discovered Japan. So since I'm kinda new to Japan's music I hope to get some recommendations. Like, what's the best album to start with as a 'beginner'?
I had a dream about this place.
astropos
Noob
Noob

Postby Silver Moon on Tue Sep 26, 2006 7:40 pm

Hello!

Welcome to the boards! I hope you enjoy posting and interecting with the community here!

.... As a first Japan album, I would say Tin Drum or Gentlemen Take Polaroids....

-K-
Silver Moon
Site Founder
Site Founder

Postby Simonp on Wed Sep 27, 2006 1:15 am

Hello. I'm a newbie too!!! First album? I'd recommend "Tin Drum" without a doubt. For me its the classic Japan record and the one that's worthy of all the praise it recieved on release.
MANAFON MANAFON MANAFON MANAFON MANAFON MANAFON MANAFON MANAFON MANAFON
Simonp
Everything & Nothing
Everything & Nothing

Postby Poisoned_Apathy on Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:34 am

Hello astropos and welcome!!

Well, although I agree with Simon about what he said on Tin Drum , I recommend Gentlemen take polaroids or even Quiet Life for a "beginner". It's really interesting to discover how their sound developed through the years...although, for that reason, you could start with Adolescent Sex as well!!! :lol:
Poisoned_Apathy
Everything & Nothing
Everything & Nothing

Postby japanfan on Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:09 am

Hello and welcome. :D If your starting a Japan collection start with Quiet Life then Adolescent sex. They are the easiest albums to get into.
japanfan
Everything & Nothing
Everything & Nothing

Postby krausy on Wed Sep 27, 2006 3:10 pm