Late intro

Tell us a little bit about you...

Late intro

Postby Savoy on Mon Jul 31, 2006 1:47 pm

Hello everyone, I'm Savoy. Just in case the photo flood didn't give it away already, haha.

My real name is Sarah and I'm from NYC. I turned 18 in March and I'm starting college on the 31st, and though I like to pretend I'm well-adjusted and chill, I'm a huge dope and I'll probably end up setting my dorm room on fire while using my illegal CrockPot.

But Japan... I'm still new to loving the boys and I'm trying to saturate myself with everything Japan! I can't remember the first time I came across them - I do remember that my music provider only had Quiet Life and Tin Drum. I listened to Quiet Life and was only taken with "Quiet Life" and "Alien"... especially "Alien", with the bizarre, compelling bassline. (Foreshadowing?) Tin Drum hadn't done anything for me. I took the two Quiet Life tracks with me to Europe on a mix CD and now "Quiet Life" reminds me of the summer of 2005...
Japan got pushed to the back-burner and I forgot about them until a month ago. Searching for new music, the image of the Quiet Life cover and David's silvery hair came to me and I went to YouTube to give them a second chance. I found some Old Grey Whistle Test spots, and they were interesting enough. And then... Mick Karn and Angie Bowie. I'm an old Bowiephile and Angie's a f*cking harpy so I thought "Oh boy, this should be rich..." and Angie's first few lines are as puerile as I expected...